It just won’t stop. 

The sickness. Ugh. 

Ok, so for the last two months I can pretty much say I have done nothing with my time. But honestly, I really couldn’t. I was signed off work for four weeks with morning sickness and the being sick part just never let up. I started the learn little tricks to rein it in alittle, little certain drinks or foods helped. But afters a couple of weeks of them being my aid then soon turned their back on me and worked horrendously. The four weeks were soon up and to be fair, I wanted to go back to work, I needed to try and be abit normal. That didn’t work either….
My first week back was on nights. Again. But that’s ok, I seemed to be better at night time. So I thought why not. The Monday night went smoothly, took it steady, didn’t push myself. No emergencies. So a steady night. 

The journey home in the morning however was a different story. You remember before how I said that I was bad in the car, well that did get better. I had tested it many times beforehand with traveling to my parents/brothers etc and seemed OK. But that morning coming home from work, the traffic was ridiculous. Stop start all the way back. I pretty much threw up as soon as I walked through the door. Then the day didn’t get any better as it luckily (hhm) was the hottest day of the year. I was dehydrated and upset. I didn’t sleep. Threw up anything that landed in my stomach, even the sips of cold water. Simon made me mash as that usually helps to perk me up alittle. But nope.  Back up that came. 

Yet somehow, I went to bloody work that night. Everyone’s response for when they saw me were all the same ‘what the hell are you doing here looking like that’. I was a mess. I had no energy what so ever. I couldn’t even be bothered to get a cup of water. I just prayed for another night of no emergencies. My manager tried her best to get me to go home but I really wanted to stay and try. All of which lasted about 1 hour when I was sat in the back office. I knew the biscuit I just ate was staying down. I ran over to the bin, down on my hands and knees. Furiously pushing the peddle to get the lid to come up but of course it wouldn’t. So I threw up all over the bin. Patients. Colleagues. Everyone could hear me. How embarrassing Hannah. They came running over with a sick bowl and tissues, bless them all! What a state I was. Thankfully, and I mean thankfully!!… My colleague was still at work who could cover my oncall for the night. A total life saver. She did offer beforehand but I really thought I’d give it a good go. How wrong was I. 

Home I went. Bed for the next 12 hours. I ate and drank fine the next day. No problem. I went to work that night and all was ok. I had an emergency at 4am, true primary so they needed to go into the lab. And it all went downhill again from there. I had to sit on a sharp bins and deep breath. I really thought I was going to pass out having those leads on. The room was so hot. The consultant kept asking if I were ok and all I could do was nod. Pray that the patient as ok and not going to do anything silly. After the procedure I took the patient to the ward, really trying to keep it together on the way. Handed over then rushed back down to the labs to throw up all morning. But it was bad. I pulled my soma have from all the wretching. Kept crying. Just a complete mess… Again! 

A colleague gave me the number for the early pregnancy unit. Enough was enough and someone needed to give me something to stop the sickness. Yet on the contrary to what I was told a couple of weeks before, I couldn’t self refer to the unit without seeing my GP. Bloody hell!

Simon rescued me from work. I had texted my mum already about how bad I felt. I have to give her a daily update on how am I otherwise she just worries too much then is calling. Like the gem that she is she phoned my GP and got me an appointment for an hours time. I was so tired from my night shift. I just felt like I needed to pass out. 

As normal I got I the surgery earlier. There were people waiting before me but as soon I checked in the doctor called me in. My heart rate was 128bpm and blood pressure 160/90. So not the best for a pregnant lady. Yet with the mess I was in she still continued to say that they don’t like giving anything for it. She signed me off for another four weeks. Reluctantly wrote me a prescription for Cyclizine. Gave me this big speech about if it continues I can’t keep fluids down that I’ll have to go into hospital for a drip. Like I didn’t already know that. Then said I officially have hyperemesis gravidarum. Severe and persistent commuting in pregnancy. Joy! And off I went.

So at presents I have another three weeks to go until I’m back at work. I’ve had to take my tablets three days running now. Slightly nervous to ask for more as I really don’t see her giving me any. So we’ll see what the next few weeks bring. 

3 thoughts on “It just won’t stop. 

Leave a comment